Following in the footsteps of countries like Thailand, Sri Lanka and Jamaica and Mauritius, Iran also announced visa-free entry for Indian citizens. The main objective of this facility is to promote cultural exchange and tourism between the two countries. Iran has extended this exemption to citizens of 33 countries including the United Arab Emirates, Russia, Saudi Arabia, Malaysia, Brazil, Mexico, Japan, Singapore and Indonesia. Iranian authorities approved the measure in December 2023. As per the latest Iranian policy, Indian travelers holding ordinary passports can travel to Iran once every six months, with a maximum stay of 15 days per visit. Indian tourists traveling to Iran by means other than air may require a visa.