New Delhi – The Union Ministers said that in view of the evolving global situation regarding spread of COVID-19, in addition to the previous travel advisories, additional instructions have been issued, whereby Indians have been advised to avoid all non-essential travel to Singapore,Republic of Korea, Iran and Italy. Also, people coming from Republic of Korea, Iran and Italy or having such travel history since 10th February 2020 may be quarantined for 14 days on arrival to India.
As many as 124 persons have been evacuated from Japan including 119 Indian citizens and five nationals from Sri Lanka, Nepal, South Africa & Peru by an Air India flight. These were quarantined onboard the Diamond Princess Cruise ship at Yokohama due to COVID-19. In addition, 112 persons have been evacuated from Wuhan, China, the epicentre of the COVID-19 outbreak by an IAF flight. These include 76 Indian citizens and 36 nationals from countries such as Bangladesh, Myanmar, Maldives, China, South Africa, USA and Madagascar, said Dr Harsh Vardhan, Union Minister for Health & Family Welfare.