New Delhi-Government has announced the launch of public and shared transportation based on electric power train, through a system of Expression of Interest (EoI) . Under this EoI, a grant of up to Rs.105 crore per city with million plus population and special category states, was proposed to be extended by the Govt through demand incentives in combinations of electric buses, electric 4-wheeler passenger cars and electric 3-wheelers.
This EoI has received tremendous response. The Department received 47 proposals from 44 cities across 21 states having requirement of 3144 E-buses, 2430 E-Four Wheeler Taxies and 21545 E-Three Wheeler Autos. After evaluation of these proposals, eleven cities were selected for funding under the present Expression of Interest as the pilot project. These include Delhi, Ahmedabad, Bengaluru, Jaipur, Mumbai, Lucknow, Hyderabad, Indore, Kolkata, Jammu, Guwahati.