Congress candidate Nilanshu Chaturvedi won the by-election of Chitrakoot assembly.He won over the BJP candidate Shankar Dayal Tripathi with 14 thousand 333 votes.This Assembly seat was vacant after the demise of MLA Prem Singh. There were total 12 candidates in the by-election.Both parties BJP and Congress had shown full power in the election campaign. In the Beginning BJP was ahead with 527 votes, but after that the Congress candidate continued to grow steadily.